Becoming the best me I can be

1. The Smell
Breastmilk has a unique smell. I wouldn’t necessarily call it a bad smell (unless it gets on your clothes because then you get the dreaded sour milk smell which is completely unpleasant) but it isn’t really a good smell either. I don’t really notice it anymore since I’ve been smelling it for 6 months. When I first started breastfeeding, I was so surprised by the smell.
2. The Mess
Another surprising part of breastfeeding for me was the mess. I guess it was part of the first time mom way of thinking. I just thought she would latch on, drink and let go when all the milk was done. No mess, no cleaning up, nothing. Haha! Boy, I was wrong! Its not really a problem anymore. But when my milk came in, I was a mess. At first, my right breast leaked incessantly for 2 months before it got itself under control. Plus, Peanut is a messy eater. She will eat for a minute, stop to look around, then continue eating. This makes milk go all over the place. I have to tuck a burp cloth under my breast while she eats to keep it off my clothes (refer back up to #1 for why you want to keep it off your clothes). Sometimes I will forget the burp cloth is tucked under by boob when I put myself back together and I will walk around with it sticking out of my shirt until I realize it. Talk about embarrassing!
3. Latching On
No, I’m not talking about her latching onto my nipple. She’s great at that. What I’m talking about is how Peanut latches onto me with her hands. It happens now that she is older and she has great control of her hands. She will grip my shirt tightly in one hand and my bra tightly in the other. Then she will fall asleep that way without loosening her death grip. I wouldn’t mind except when I try to put her into her crib because I wake her up trying to get her to let go of my clothes!
4. Feeding her in the bathroom
Yes. I have fed my baby in a bathroom. I was out to dinner with my husbands parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles. Peanut was hungry and yelling up a storm. I didn’t want to offend his family by feeding her at the table although I’m sure they wouldn’t have minded. Instead I took her into the bathroom. Hubby’s mom came in with me, brought a chair with her for me to sit on and held the door shut so I could feed Peanut in privacy. (I won’t get into the reasons why I think its wrong for breastfeeding mothers to have to feed our babies in bathrooms because some people have issues with it. I try to be respectful though, which is why I won’t talk about it)
5. You might offend people you care about
It will happen. Everyone has their own opinion. Some people will be offended by you breastfeeding your child. Like it is any of THEIR business. I knew I might offend a stranger for my choice to breastfed. I knew I would hear the questions (“You breastfed?” “Won’t your breasts get saggy?”), the comments, and the looks. Even your own family could be offended by it. I learned this the hard way at Peanut’s first thanksgiving. I took it really hard, especially after how supportive my in-laws are about my choice to breastfed Peanut.
6. The Staring
No one told me my baby would stare at my breasts like she found the lost city of Atlantis. She stares when she’s hungry, when I’m changing, even when I wear a lower cut top. She is more fascinated with my breasts than my husband (which is saying something).
7. The thirst
I get soooooooo thirsty since I breastfeed Peanut. I thought I was thirsty when I was pregnant. That was nothing compared to the intense thirst I have now. I drink almost a gallon of water a day. I am thirstier now that I also exercise.
8. The Silly moments
No one told me of the silly things babies would do while they are breastfeeding. Some of my favorite moments with my daughter are while she’s breastfeeding. Sometimes she will stop nursing to look up at me, give me a huge smile with milk trailing down her chin, and then continue to eat. It is always random, adorable, and hilarious whenever she does it. There will be times when she’s eating that she will hold her arm straight up in the air. As she starts to fall asleep, her arm will sink towards my shirt. The moment is touches my shirt she yanks it back into the air. The process will continue until she falls asleep completely. This reminds me of when wrestlers are put into a sleeper hold and their arm falls as they pass out. I try so hard not to crack up laughing whenever she does it.

Sleeper Hold

Sleeper Hold

Comments on: "8 things no one ever told me about breastfeeding" (12)

  1. Ha ha…love #6! And yes, the smell! I wasn’t prepared for it. My baby used to get my milk stuck in the folds of his neck and it stunk so badly. I was prepared for a stinky baby, but I didn’t think that it would be from milk.

    • I love #6 as well haha and it is soooooo true!!!! Peanut did the same thing. I would be sniffing around trying to figure out which one of us smelled like sour milk. Sometimes it was me, sometimes it was her and most of the time it ended up being both of us! haha

  2. Love this! It seems like there are so many things that you’ll find out along the process that no one ever mentions! I know people have been raising kiddos and keeping them alive since the dawn of time, but I always wonder how in the heck you figure all this stuff out, haha. As for being offended…in my opinion those people are just so absurd. I mean, walk into a grocery store and there are pictures of half naked, over sexualized women everywhere and yet breast feeding your own child is “offensive”. So stupid! Anyways, nice post 🙂

    • There will always been things you don’t expect when you become a parent. Even things you were told can still surprise you. You just take it day by day (sometimes minute by minute) and do the best you can. I have been very lucky because my daughter and I are very close. I am able to read her very well so I know what she wants before she has to cry for it. I agree with you about the pictures vs breastfeeding. It is so stupid!

      • Definitely, that makes a lot of sense. After all there is often a learning curve with so many of the things we do in life! Glad to hear about the closeness, I’m sure it’s an experience like no other 🙂

  3. Oh I have been there feeding in the bathroom too! Also, I have nursed in the car as well. When they need to eat and there isn’t a proper place, we have to do what we have to do. The joys of breastfeeding!

    • My preferred place to nurse her is in the car when we are out and about. I have no problem with nursing her in the car but I highly dislike the bathroom. There’s just so many germs and everything. You don’t see anyone else eating in the bathroom. Why should I have to feed my baby in there?

  4. I loved this post. My children were both born in Europe where breastfeeding is as common as walking your dog. Imagine my surprise when I came home to the US for a visit and realized how shocked and appalled so many people were at just the thought that I would nurse in public. The shame! I was always discrete, it was not a sexual thing, and it’s completely natural. Fast forward years later when a young girl in her 20’s told me she thought breastfeeding was “gross.” Having to nurse your bathroom just so you won’t offend someone else is what’s gross! I wish I could have a baby again just so I could breastfeed it in every public place I could find, just to push everyone’s buttons! (I’m only half kidding!) It’s cheap, it’s why we have breasts, it’s convenient, and it’s the best thing for your baby. Good for you for nursing Peanut!!!

    • I agree with you so much. For the land of the free, there are so many judgements and condescending behaviors it’s disgusting. It IS why we have breasts. Not so we can flaunt them in slutty outfits or to catch a man’s attention. They are to FEED our babies. I find it so frustrating. I am so tired of narrow-minded people. *Sigh* Thanks for the encouragement 😀 She’s still nursing and will continue until she decides otherwise.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

