Becoming the best me I can be

Last week, I went to visit my mother. We were talking about how her doctor told her she needs to lose weight and how I have been exercising and eating healthy. I was telling her how I am losing weight the natural way. She just nods her head like she’s not really listening. I know my mother well and I can tell she’s thinking of something else. Then she informs me of how two of my cousins had weight loss surgery (I believe it was the LAP-band but I can’t remember) and told me I should do it too.

I was just floored! Not to mention offended! I was just telling her how I want to lose weight naturally and she wants me to have surgery. What for? Does she not believe I can lose the weight naturally? Does she think I’m not strong enough to do it on my own? Why does she want me to be cut open to lose weight when eating right and exercising is so much better for me? I know how my mother is and there is absolutely no point in arguing with her about the benefits of eating healthy and exercising versus having surgery. I just nodded and changed the subject while inwardly being stunned that she had just made that suggestion. I have been thinking about this conversation ever since.

I can’t see the point in having surgery to lose weight. In my opinion, it is the easy way out like cheating on a major test in college because you didn’t feel like studying or you partied instead. There are so many disadvantages to weight loss surgeries and so many advantages to losing weight the natural way.

Disadvantages of Weight Loss Surgery

There are major disadvantages of weight loss surgery like the LAP-band including:

  1. The main disadvantage is the fact that its actual surgery, which means someone will be:
    1. cutting you open
    2. performing the surgery
    3. stitching you back up
    4. plus, you have to recover from the surgery
  2. There are risks involved in having surgery I read about in this article including:
    1. vomiting from eating too much
    2. risks of infections
    3. the band slipping out of place
    4. the possible need for more surgeries
  3. other less likely complications
  4. Not to mention the fact that most people who have the LAP-band surgery are likely to regain the weight over the years.

Advantages of Natural Weight Loss

Now let’s look at the advantages of losing weight naturally through healthy eating habits and exercising.

  1. You don’t have to have surgery!
  2. No surgical complications or recovery
  3. build muscle
  4. break bad eating habits/develop healthy ones
  5. build self-esteem and self-confidence
  6. proud of yourself for doing it on your own
  7. learning how to eat correctly
  8. set a good example for your children
  9. plus so many more!!!

I personally will never choose to have weight loss surgery. I do know some people have to have surgery for health reasons. I completely understand and I have no problem with that. If my cousins decided to lose weight by having surgery, I’m fine with that as well. It’s just not for me. I want to do this the “hard” way and I will!

Fruits and veggies

Comments on: "Did she really ask me that?" (16)

  1. WorkingUpTheCurve said:

    I hear you! Natural weight loss is so much more rewarding.

  2. I’m cheering for you! 🙂

  3. I wouldn’t be slighted by the comment. She sounds like she is trying to support you, but doesn’t have the proper information to do so. My sister had laser lipo, a breast lift and a breast augmentation. After losing weight the “hard” weight, I most definitely hold it over her head. I love her dearly, she is my best friend. But she didn’t want to put forth the effort to lose the weight, so now she’s chubby with big fake boobs LOL I will say though, I will more than likely get a tummy tuck after I’m done popping babies out and I’ve been able to maintain my weight for a year or two. It has nothing to do with other people liking what they see, but everything to do with ME liking what I see.

    • I completely agree. I am doing this for health and healthy eating habits more than weight loss (its just a great side effect LOL). I already feel comfortable in my own skin. But just because I can be happy with how I look now doesn’t mean I can’t make myself look and feel even better 🙂

  4. Natural all the way – its not a quick fix but its better than the alternative!

    oh and I can add to your list of bad things – my dad has a lap band and if he eats certain foods or eats too fast it gets stuck and he has to throw up – seriously disgusting side-effect that no one mentions *shudder*

  5. So funny how our family and friends can be our biggest weight loss manipulators. A classic I see happening a lot: they say you should try this or that diet, but then when you go over for dinner they force seconds on you and want you to take ‘that cake you would eat all of if you could’ home as left overs ect… Annoying

  6. Moms are NOT always right! 🙂
    You keep doing it the way you want and when the weight is gone SHE will be the one that is blown away. 🙂

  7. I’m sorry you had to go through that. As moms, we want the best for our kids. Sometimes that means you don’t want to see them struggle or get hurt. Maybe that’s where she was coming from? It also means respecting their wishes and letting them learn on their own and I’m not sure she’s doing that second part. I’m hoping she just doesn’t want to see you struggle, and it just came out the wrong way.

    I’ve never been one to take the easy way out. So I totally know where you’re coming from. Plus, weight-loss surgery is just plain unnatural. Sometimes our bodies reject foreign objects, so that’s something else to consider. Even if someone gets a organ transplant, it can get rejected. So putting a band around your stomach? No Bueno! Also, stomach staples or a bypass – not really worth it. If you control your portions your stomach shrinks naturally. The human body is amazing! How it adapts and changes. Another thing to consider is that when you get a weight-loss surgery you have so much extra skin! It looks so gross. And people have to get surgery a lot of times to get that skin removed. But if you change your diet and exercise, your skin is shrinking while you are losing fat- that’s the amazing-ness of the human body! You can look at a ton of before and after pictures of people who got some form of weight-loss surgery and people who lost weight naturally… The ones who lost the weight naturally look healthy the weight-loss surgery people don’t – they are smaller but I think it has something to go with their face and skin – they look like a shadow of a person or the skin on their faces sag. Whereas if you workout, you will lose weight in your face and neck and your skin shrinks so fast. I mean, I notice my face and neck smaller and it’s only been a month!! I considered weight-loss surgery, but in the end I decided it was the easy way out and that the human body wasn’t made for that. I was upset I had to have an emergency C-Section! Also, I refused a blood transfusion when I was in the hospital after I had my son (I had a lot of complications)… The nurse about flipped out. They were worried I was going to die. I didn’t want to put any foreign blood in my body. Plus not to mention I had seen a few stories on the news where people were contacting HIV from unclean blood. Yeah… um… NO!

    Hopefully you can be an example for your mom. Once she sees you losing weight and being healthy maybe it’ll be something you can do together. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

