Becoming the best me I can be

I’m doing it right

I went to the doctor’s yesterday for a follow up for my stomach problems. I went through the normal routine with the nurse. She checked my blood pressure, checked where my blood pressure was last appointment (one month ago) and did a double take. She said my blood pressure had gone down… a lot for one month. Last month, my blood pressure was on the higher side of normal at 136/90. This month my blood pressure had gone down to 126/70, in the normal range.

When the doctor came in, he looked at my chart, saw my blood pressure change, and took my blood pressure again. It came out the same (maybe off one or two, I didn’t see it). He was very impressed. He asked me what I have been up to with my diet. When I explained to him how I have changed my diet to more protein, fruits and veggies, taking walks everyday and working out, he told me to continue doing it. He noted I had lost weight as well as lower my blood pressure.

Plus, eating better has really helped me with my stomach issues. Unfortunately, it hasn’t made them disappear. I still get really bad stomach cramps when I eat certain foods (even healthy ones like salads) and there are times when I have to run in search of a bathroom. He told me the blood work came out really well so there’s no problems there. He believes I have IBS, which stinks but I’m not surprised. He wants to put me on medication for it to see if it helps but I can’t until I finish breastfeeding Peanut. He is sending me to a GI doctor to see what else we can do while we wait for me to try the medicine.

I will continue eating healthy, making healthy lifestyle choices and exercising. I am thrilled with the progress I have made so far and how the changes I’ve made are already improving my health.

Comments on: "I’m doing it right" (16)

  1. Congrats!! Keep up the good work!

    And he wants to put you on medication? for IBS? As a person with IBS, my doctor told me that there is no medicine available for IBS – but that was back in 2006, so maybe things are different? There is lots of information out there about IBS – and everyone suffers from it differently. When I was researching, I read that making a food journal and figuring out your trigger foods and avoiding them when you can is the best solution. The digestive system works by having a PH balance (acids/bases). Sometimes people have IBS that slows their system down (low acid high base) and others have the kind that get sped up (low base high acid). I have the latter, my trigger foods are anything acidic. Tomatoes, coffee, and oranges tend to effect me the most. Eating pasta with tomato sauce seems okay – I can’t drink tomato juice or eat tomato soup, coffee is just bad anyway I try to drink it for me, I love oranges but I can’t eat a whole orange or drink too much juice. If I have orange juice it’s usually some sort of blend and it’s a very small amount. I’m okay with this, because I know the alternative. Everyone is different, you need to figure out your trigger foods. Drinking water helps a lot too. Also, bananas and mustard are natural bases, they usually help your stomach calm down. Pepto Bismol works wonders too. For the first 2 years of my IBS, before I could control it- I always had Pepto on me. It took me so long because I was in college, and drinking alcohol didn’t help my IBS – it actually made it worse… I’m pretty sure it’s a trigger of mine too… but I don’t drink anymore. TMI?

    • Thanks for the information! I am in the process now of doing research. I am currently not taking any medication yet. The doctor called me the next day and told me not to take it until I am done breastfeeding Peanut. He wasn’t comfortable with the chances of it going through my milk to her. I have been making a food journal. The foods I find I am unable to eat baffles me. Some of them are understandable like pasta, greasy foods, fast foods, lots of red meat but others are not so much like lettuce (anything from iceberg to romaine to spinach) or how I am eat something one day with no problem then the next day the same food upsets my stomach. I drink almost a gallon of water a day with very few other drinks (except I have been drinking green tea all week and I occasionally have a glass of fruit juice). I am going to do some research and see what I come up with. I am an appointment with a GI doctor on Tuesday. I’ll see what he has to say. Thanks for the advice and help 🙂

      • Hey, crazy thought? Maybe your stomach is still adjusting to your new diet? I’ve read you eat a lot of fruits and veggies, are you also including lean protein and whole grains? Fruits and veggies are good- but they go digest fast, you probably just need to find a good balance that works for you.

      • Thanks for the thought! I have had problems eating veggies for years now. Its just more obvious now that I am eating more of it. I’ve had stomach issues since I was 10 years old. I incorporate lean protein (yesterday I even tried tofu!) into my diet as well as whole grains. I just don’t talk about them quite as much I guess 🙂 Happily, my stomach issues have improved since I started eating healthier. When I changed my eating habits, I cut out a lot of the bad food making my stomach upset. Plus I changed to whole wheat instead of white foods like rice, bread, etc. I also added more protein to my diet since I’ve been working out and I didn’t eat that much before. I wish it was as simple as eating more protein and whole wheat :/ I love thoughts on what would help me though so thank you 🙂

  2. check out Bio-k. They are really good probiotic drinks that can help you maintain your flora. They sell them at whole foods and could really help you out. Even better they have a dairy, a soy, and a rice formula so they can fit any diet! What are on the salads? I agree with keeping a food journal it will totally help you see your trigger foods. Like for instance, maybe it is a wheat allergy, or a gluten intolerance or dairy. If you are using salad dressing, cheese etc all those could be in there.

    • I will definitely check it out! I am taking probiotic pills everyday to help my stomach. It’s the actual lettuce that upsets my stomach (although it could also be something else in salads as well). All lettuce I eat upsets my stomach from iceberg to romaine to spinach. Although, I have noticed the darker green it is, the more upset my stomach gets. I do keep a food journal. I already know dairy is a trigger food and I’ve cut it out of my diet. I had blood work to check for a wheat/gluten allergy and it came back negative.

      • yeah give it a shot, a lot of time probiotic pills don’t really work well because in order to get the probiotics shelf stable they have to freeze-dry them. By the time your stomach digests the pill most of the bacteria are dead, and since you stomach is so acidic a lot of them just get digested. The bio-k has 50 billion fresh live bacteria so you know you are getting all of them. I try to do at least one a week, they are expensive like 4 or 5 bucks a piece but I have never felt better after using them.
        I can’t believe it is the lettuces. I would be so sad, I love green juices and stuff. my life is veggies, I don’t know what I would do.

      • I love to eat greens and veggies as well but so far they make me feel awful. I’ve been eating them anyway because I know they are suppose to be good for me but then my stomach is in knots and I am sprinting for the bathroom (sorry for the TMI). It’s the same way with broccoli, brussel sprouts, and other dark green foods that I love to eat. This is why I’m going to the doctor to figure out why I can’t eat healthy foods I love. I will be on the lookout for those drinks. Unfortunately, they don’t have many health foods stores in my area and the ones around me are very small. But I will be on the lookout and let you know what I think 🙂

  3. YAY! All the best for the rest of your journey.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

