Becoming the best me I can be

Origami Idea

Something I haven’t talked about on my blog yet is my LOVE for folding origami. Since I became a mother, the ability to sit down quietly and fold paper has fallen far down on the list of things I need to do, especially since I have started working out and eating healthy (making food from scratch means I always have dirty dishes in the sink even if I wash a hundred of them!). But that is all about to change!

Folding origami is one of my favorite pastimes. I find it relaxing, enjoyable and I just love to show off what I’ve made. Whenever I made origami, I would make them as gifts for friends and family or just give them away. I have been thinking about how to make some extra income for our family while I am at home but couldn’t think of a way to do it. Then Hubby suggested making origami to sell. He had made the suggestion before but I never really thought about it. Now I think I am going to do it.

I thought I would ask what you guys think. Here are some pictures of some of the origami I have made. Do you think I could make money selling them (These are gifts I made for friends. I will try to improve upon these to sell to people)?

This is a giraffe shadow box I made for my friend Ashley. It's a simple 5x7 inch frame

This is a giraffe shadow box I made for my friend Ashley. It’s a simple 5×7 inch frame

Picture of an origami dragon I made

Picture of an origami dragon I made

This is the top view of a vase of origami roses. The picture was taken with my old phone so it's pretty blurry

This is the top view of a vase of origami roses. The picture was taken with my old phone so it’s pretty blurry

I made my friend, Heather, an complete origami noah's ark for her baby shower. Even the boat is made with origami.

I made my friend, Heather, an complete origami Noah’s ark for her baby shower. Even the boat is made with origami.

This is the first origami shadow box I made for my friend, Laurel for her baby shower.

This is the first origami shadow box I made for my friend, Laurel for her baby shower.

These are just a few examples of some of the origami I have made. I thought about making origami shadow boxes similar to the ones above to sell. I could make them in different themes like Safari, Deep Sea, Forest Life, Coral Reef, Butterflies, Flowers, etc. etc. etc. I could also make mobiles for babies.

So what do you think?

Comments on: "Origami Idea" (4)

  1. […] Possible way for me to make some extra income (becomingthebestme.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

