Becoming the best me I can be

Click to go to Despicable Me Facebook page

I had an light bulb moment today. Just because I can eat something does NOT mean I should. It seems like a no-brainer and it is. But this week I was eating quite a few unhealthy foods I probably shouldn’t have. Foods like pizza, chicken salad sub (too much mayo but darn was it delicious), and Tofutti (dairy free “ice cream”).

It’s pretty easy for me to keep from eating unhealthy foods because so many of them contain dairy. When I do find a food without dairy, I usually get very excited. I get so excited that I’m ABLE to eat it I forget to think about whether or not I SHOULD eat it. This is especially true for the Tofutti “ice cream”. I have to remind myself it is still ice cream, even if it doesn’t have milk in it. I can still eat it every once in a while as a treat but not two or three times a week. If I want “ice cream” that badly, I should make myself some yonanas (bananas and other fruit with the same texture as soft-serve ice cream).

I will be paying more attention to whether or not what I am about to eat is healthy or unhealthy. I will try harder to choose healthy over unhealthy regardless of the dairy content. This week will be much better than next week. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments on: "Just because I can eat it doesn’t mean I should" (9)

  1. awesome ๐Ÿ™‚ just awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Thanks, Keri! I tell myself that, but it doesn’t work. Lol.

    • It usually works for me but we all have our bad days!

      • ๐Ÿ˜€ I think it’s because I’m not a fan of food…so, I’ll just eat because I should…and I’m not necessarily picky about what I eat. If healthy stuff is there, I’ll eat it, too…and I like to sabotage myself. Maybe I should learn to like food…Well, I like watermelon, coconut, most fruits, some veggies…and pizza (which I never get often)…anything else? Just doesn’t matter one way or the other. (Random facts for the day. :P)

      • I’m trying to convince myself to eat foods I didn’t like as a kid. I’m retrying foods I hated to see if I like them now. I use to hate grapefruit. I retried it and now I’ve been eating one almost everyday LOL it’s funny how that works. I love food. That’s my problem. I like healthy and unhealthy food. I just have to re-train myself to eat healthy food 85% of the time and let myself have some unhealthy food occasionally.

      • ๐Ÿ˜€ Cool beans. You’re so super. Oh, I like grapefruit as well.

  3. […] Just because I can eat it doesn’t mean I should (becomingthebestme.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

