Becoming the best me I can be

I had Lissa from If Not For the Skinny Jeans comment on this weekly update asking me if I had ever tried calculating my body fat percentage as a more accurate indicator than watching the scale. I finally got around to doing it! LOL I looked through a couple free online body fat calculators (I can’t afford anything fancier right now LOL) and I decided to go with this one called the US Navy Calculator- Body Fat Calculator. I really liked this one because I wanted one that calculated sex, height, weight and a few measurements. Most of the other ones I tried either only calculate measurements or weight and waist. So the first thing I did was put my beginning measurements and weight (well, the weight I was when I took the first measurements) and put them into the body fat calculator. I wanted to see where I was before so I have a starting point. This is what I got…

Beginning Stats

Body Fat: 53%
Fat Mass: 138lbs
Lean Mass: 122lbs
Body Fat Category: Obese

Ouch! That obese category really hits me where it hurts… but it’s not going to be there forever. I’m working on changing that. It just takes some time. Next, I put in my most current measurements and weight….

Current Stats

Body Fat: 52%
Fat Mass: 132lbs
Lean Mass: 121lbs
Body Fat Category: Obese

Woohoo! It’s roughly been a month between the first measurements (5/1/13) and the current measurements (6/2/13) and I have already lost 1% of body fat!!!! I don’t know what you think but I find that really impressive and it makes me really happy! I can’t believe how much can change in just a month with hard work and determination. I wasn’t kidding when I said I won’t be in the obese category forever πŸ™‚

Well, that’s what my current body fat percentage is. I know it’s not too accurate but if I continue to use the same calculator each time, it will give me a general idea of where I am. That’s good enough for me!

Have you calculated your body fat percentage? What did you use to calculate it? What did you think?

IMG_1624

Comments on: "Body Fat Percentage- June 8, 2013" (6)

  1. That is awesome! Keep going, you can do it!

  2. I’m glad you found one you liked! (and thanks for the link πŸ˜‰ ) As long as you keep your measurements in the same place and use the same calculator you’ll at least know you’re going in the right direction! Proof be told… You’re already heading that way! Congratulations! If I could rely on my BF measurements only, I definitely would!!

    • Thanks for telling me about it. I look forward to seeing my progress too πŸ™‚ I just want to keep working hard and giving my all. It’s all I can do. I do all my own measurements

  3. Thanks for the link, really handy. Now I have to check mine.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

