Becoming the best me I can be

Tye-dying for Relay!

Everyone at my work supports and helps Relay for Life, including myself and my mother-in-law. We have a team and hold events to raise money for Relay. On Friday (tomorrow), we will be having a big 24 hour event at a local high school. I am excited about it and so are other people at work. We have t-shirts to wear for the event and some of the girls at work wanted to tye-dye them. I didn’t know about it until earlier this week. My co-worker told me and said my mother-in-law wanted to tye-dye her shirt but couldn’t since she works two jobs (she’s one amazing woman. I can never say enough great things about her).

Once I had the chance, I texted Jellybean and asked her if she wanted me to tye-dye her shirt for her. She excitedly said yes and said she’d drop the stuff off the next day. I asked what colors she wanted and she said all of them. LOL I also had the great idea of tye-dying a onesie for Peanut to wear since she will be at the Relay event as well. So the next day, I had all the stuff I needed to tye-dye including shirts for Jellybean, Hubby, myself and a onesie for Peanut. I was excited to tye-dye. I love doing crafts and projects. I pre-washed the clothes and set up everything while Peanut was awake so they would be ready once she went down for her nap. Then all I had to do was wait for her to take her nap and I was ready to go!

Peanut went down for her nap and I was ready! I was the only one doing the tye-dying so I took as many pictures as I could without getting dye all over my phone. LOL! So here they are!

Make sure to read the instructions

Make sure to read the instructions

Lay the t-shirt flat on the table (or whatever surface you're using).

Lay the t-shirt flat on the table (or whatever surface you’re using).

Pinch shirt at the center (or wherever you want the design to start) and start twisting it into a spiral.

Pinch shirt at the center (or wherever you want the design to start) and start twisting it into a spiral.

T-shirt completely spiraled.

T-shirt completely spiraled.

Put a rubber-band around the outside of the shirt.

Put a rubber-band around the outside of the shirt.

Continue to place rubber-bands around the shirt dividing it into wedges. Make as many wedges as you would like.

Continue to place rubber-bands around the shirt dividing it into wedges. Make as many wedges as you would like.

Have all your supplies ready!

Have all your supplies ready!

All the clothes are bundled and ready to dye. I did the same style on all of the shirts. Except my socks I tried to dye. They didn't spiral well.

All the clothes are bundled and ready to dye. I did the same style on all of the shirts. Except my socks I tried to dye. They didn’t spiral well.

Adding the yellow dye

Adding the yellow dye

All the shirts with yellow added

All the shirts with yellow added

Time for some red!

Time for some red!

Red and yellow!

Red and yellow!

Going green

Going green

Red, yellow and green

Red, yellow and green

Adding blue (I didn't have a chance to take a picture of the purple

Adding blue (I didn’t have a chance to take a picture of the purple

All the colors were added. Now I just had to add the extra colors

All the colors were added. Now I just had to add the extra colors

The shirts are covered in all the pretty colors.

The shirts are covered in all the pretty colors.

Wrap up all the shirts in plastic wrap. I was apparently out of plastic wrap so I used grocery bags.

Wrap up all the shirts in plastic wrap. I was apparently out of plastic wrap so I used grocery bags.

This is why you should use gloves. My hands became even more colorful as the process wore on.

This is why you should use gloves. My hands became even more colorful as the process wore on.

Unwrap and hang the shirts out to dry. I love how they look!

Unwrap and hang the shirts out to dry. I love how they look!

I had a blast and I think they turned out great! I love the colors! My mother-in-law really liked them too. I will be postponing my Squat challenge tomorrow since I plan on walking 5K around the track and don’t want to overdo it on my legs. I plan on posting pictures!

Comments on: "Tye-dying for Relay!" (1)

  1. […] Other than that, I’ve had a great week. I did a lot of fun projects this week for the Relay event on Friday and Saturday, including tye-dying t-shirts […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

