Becoming the best me I can be

20 pounds down!!!

I can’t believe it! I have made it to my first major goal! I lost 20 pounds in a little under 3 months! It has almost made me speechless. I spent most of yesterday just thinking about how I have lost 20 pounds in such a small amount of time. It feels surreal. I almost don’t believe it. I still feel like me. Yes, I’ve noticed numerous changes since I’ve started my healthy journey but have I really changed so much that I lost 20 pounds??? I don’t feel that much different.

I still sweat like crazy when I workout. I still get out of breath during my workouts and feel sore afterwards. I am still a far way off from running or even jogging. I still modify my workouts and feel clumsy at times. I still feel like me. While there have been physical changes, I don’t feel like I look that much different. I also still have a long way to go.

But there are also many differences from when I started as well. I’m not nearly as out of breath as I use to be. I feel more energized all of the time and I feel happier. The rush of a good workout lasts longer and I usually look forward to my workouts. I feel stronger and can do more than I use to. I last longer during my workouts with less water breaks. I have lost a pant size and see the weight loss in my hips and stomach. I have lost inches as well as weight. I’ve had quite a few people tell me my face looks thinner. I look for extra ways to fit in exercise. I am already looking ahead to what workout program I will do after BeFit in 90. Plus so many more!

The part that amazes me the most is how I have lost 20 pounds. No diets, no “magic” pills, no special drinks or shakes, no fasting or binging, no cheat days or meals. I just eat healthy and exercise. I find it so unbelievable because 90% of all topics relating to losing weight say it is suppose to be harder doing it the right way. They make eating healthy and exercising seem like the hardest thing in the world to do. As though you must find a short cut or quick fix to lose weight because the “hard” way is just too hard. I feel baffled that I could reach my first goal within 3 months. I expected it to take much longer to reach this point. Much much longer…

I’m not complaining though. I have tried my hardest every day taking one day at a time. I make weekly goals to keep me focused and try every week to complete them. Most of the time I do but sometimes I don’t. That’s okay. I’m human. I make mistakes. I don’t let failure derail me. I pick myself up and try harder. I workout according to my current fitness program. Sometimes I do more, sometimes I do what I should halfheartedly but I am still moving my body and trying. Fitness is much easier for me than eating healthy. Working out is a lot easier when you have a fitness program telling you what to do.

Eating health is much harder. I don’t count calories and I am terrible at keeping up with a food journal but I’ve been trying. I eat what I know is healthy for me and I allow myself small amounts of less healthy foods occasionally. Being unable to eat foods containing any traces of milk or peanuts due to my daughter’s allergies has really helped me eat healthy. I believe cutting milk from my diet had a large impact on the way I feel and the weight I have lost. I have been struggling with balancing eating healthy foods and eating foods that don’t upset my IBS but I feel as though I am finally finding that balance. This has been the hardest struggle for me. Healthy foods I want to eat cause me terrible pain and discomfort. I am learning what healthy foods I can eat without discomfort and how to eat the other healthy foods in smaller amounts. I will continue with this progress and continue learning how to eat better.

I am truly thrilled to have accomplished this goal the right way. Everyone is different and not everyone would have the same results as I have if they did the same thing. Some people could even have better results. I’m far from perfect. The best advice I could give anyone reading this is listen to your body! I don’t know how I could stress this enough. Ignore your brain and all its confusing messages. Look past your mental cravings and boredom induced hunger. Listen to what your body is telling you and what it needs. I will be the first to admit how hard this is. There are times when I don’t want to listen to my body. I fight it and pout. I mentally whine and groan. There are times when I have to workout and feel like stomping my feet and saying “I don’t wanna!”. But you just have to suck it up buttercup. Your health is more important than anything else.

Random Family Picture

Random Family Picture

Comments on: "20 pounds down!!!" (13)

  1. That’s amazing and so inspiring, congratulations! Hope you are feeling so proud of yourself. Good luck for the next stage 🙂

  2. Huge accomplishment! You must feel very proud of yourself. And the best part is: it’s only the beginning!

  3. Congratulations!!!! A wonderful accomplishment,,, keep up the good work!

  4. Victoria said:

    Congratulations! That is an amazing accomplishment and you should be very proud of yourself. Onwards and upwards!!

  5. So inspiring! This is a great accomplishment!

  6. mymotherlied2me said:

    Congratulations!!!!! Be very proud of yourself!

  7. Well done! Keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

