Becoming the best me I can be

Sick of being sick

I promise I haven’t forgotten about this blog! I’ve had a crazy past few weeks. I feel like a bad blogger! Lately, I haven’t had the energy to do much of anything, let alone exercising. I’ve been sick for the past few weeks.

Two and a half weeks ago, I thought I had gotten bitten four times by a spider. I had woken up on a Saturday morning with these four bright red itchy spots on my side. I changed my bed sheets and thought nothing of it at first. By Monday morning, my side hurt, itched like crazy and was getting worse. I called my doctor to make an appointment to have it checked because I was afraid of it being a poisonous spider. Well, I was wrong. It wasn’t a spider bite…. I had shingles…

Shingles sounds like my arm is going to rot off. Hubby and I jokingly called it Shambling Shingles for the first few days. For those of you (like me) who don’t know what shingles is, here is a description from WebMD

“Shingles occurs when the virus that causes chickenpox starts up again in your body. After you get better from chickenpox, the virus “sleeps” (is dormant) in your nerve roots. In some people, it stays dormant forever. In others, the virus “wakes up” when disease, stress, or aging weakens the immune system.”

Shingles is only contagious to people who have never had chickenpox (aka Peanut) but only through direct contact to the rash. The symptoms I had including pain around the area, aching all over, headaches, a rash that turns into blisters, etc. Let’s just say I haven’t had a great few weeks. The rash still hasn’t gone away but it doesn’t hurt or itch that much anymore.

Sunday, I came down with a cold. Sore throat, runny nose, coughing, etc. etc. etc. I have been miserable but I am FINALLY starting to feel better. I’ll be making a post soon about what I have been thinking about during this time of being sick. I have been adjusting some of my fitness goals.

Comments on: "Sick of being sick" (16)

  1. Carol Ann Larade said:

    Oh my goodness! That sounds so agonizing. Hopefully you will be on the mend and back at’er in no time. Until then plenty of rest and fluids. Glad to see you back!

  2. Oh no!! So sorry to hear!! Glad to hear you are starting to feel better. Wishing you a speedy recovery 🙂

  3. Shingles is horrible. I’m so sorry you’ve been dealing with this. Healing thoughts to you.

  4. Oh my that’s terrible! Shingles is no laughing matter. I hope you’re feeling better soon!

  5. OMG I hope you feel better soon. My parents and grandmother have all had shingles. Last week I thought I might be next, don’t believe so though. Please take great care!

  6. OH, wow! Get well soon, sweetie. Praying for you.

  7. Feel better!!!!

Leave a comment