Becoming the best me I can be

I swear every time Peanut gets into a good routine with her eating habits and I think she will start gaining weight more rapidly, she sabotages herself. Then I am left scrambling to figure out what to do next and how to make sure she’s getting enough calories and nutrition to be healthy. It is very frustrating and leaves me feeling helpless. She was doing so well up until this past Friday. She was nursing frequently, eating her three meals of solids and was even hungry enough to have the occasional extra snack of solids. Her eating habits always seem to fluctuate but they usually aren’t too bad. She loves to eat and eats a lot.

Apparently hearing the words milk and peanut allergy made Peanut believe she can no longer nurse because she has been fighting me about nursing ever since Friday (which is the day we found out). Peanut has always LOVED nursing. Whatever issues she has had in the past with food and eating habits (like refusing to drink from a bottle or refusing to eat certain foods), she has always loved drinking her breastmilk and greedily drinks as much as she can… until this past weekend. It started out as continuing to be hungry after she drained both breasts. She’d drink all she could and would still be hungry. I would give her solids after she was done to make sure she was getting enough to eat. You can’t overfeed Peanut. She just doesn’t let it happen. She screams if she’s hungry. She clamps her mouth shut when she’s full. It’s that easy to tell when she’s done.

As the weekend progressed, she began to refuse to finish breastfeeding at first. Then she was refusing to breastfed at all every other time I tried to nurse her. Today she has refused to nurse altogether. I have tried repeatedly and I have been very persistent but it just hasn’t been working. I only managed to get her to nurse ONCE all day. Its so frustrating when she needs the calories to gain weight and she’s having weight gain issues.

I was hoping to ask my doctor at her appointment today but I didn’t realize her appointment was just a nurse weigh in and I wouldn’t be seeing her pediatrician today. As for the good news, Peanut has started gaining weight again!!!! Woohoo! She only gained 4 ounces but its better than not gaining weight and MUCH better than losing weight. She is now 7 months old and weighs 12 pounds 4 ounces. Progress is progress regardless of how small ๐Ÿ™‚

After the nurse weighed Peanut and gave her her shots (and Peanut told off the nurse in facial expressions, screaming and grunts), she asked if I had any questions. LOL! Where to begin?!?! I saved most of my less dire questions for when I see the doctor next time but I asked the most important questions today.

  • Is she allergic to just peanuts or tree nuts as well?
  • What can I do to help her continue to nurse?
  • What can I give her to supplement with since she isn’t breastfeeding? (she’s allergic to milk and vomits when she’s given soy, which makes supplementing hard)

The nurse said she would ask the doctor and call me with the answers. I should hopefully hear from them tomorrow. For now, I have been trying to breastfed her. When it doesn’t work, I pump and add the milk to her cereal to make sure she’s getting the nutrients and calories. I’m just taking this one day at a time and doing my best for my baby girl. I’ll keep you guys updated as I learn more.

Comments on: "Frustration and good news." (4)

  1. she may very well be teething. she may also have realized that its a lot easier to get the solids than breastmilk, and if she doesn’t want comforting, she may not want to work at getting the breastmilk. Keep offering it to her. Pump what you can. It will all work out. Breastfeeding is one of the hardest jobs of a having an infant…

    • Hubby and I think its a combination of the two. Her top two teeth will be coming in soon. Plus she realizes eating solids is easier (smart little booger). It takes less work to eat solids and she feels fuller faster. She did nurse this morning. I am going to continue to offer it to her and pump when she doesn’t take it. I definitely agree. Breastfeeding can be so frustrating but its so worth it in my opinion.

  2. 1. She might be weaning herself. She may like the solid foods more. Every baby is different. There’s no textbook for babies. As long as she’s happy- she’s ok. There are time/guidelines for things but they are in no way rules. Let your baby lead the way with her eating.

    2. Stop worrying, or feeling bad- because whatever you feel your baby does. That’s especially important when breastfeeding. You can try pumping your milk. I guess rice milk is an alternative, too? Don’t worry about calories with your baby (unless she’s getting too much)… Small babies are sometimes fickle- her taste buds are developing right now- and she really might prefer the baby food to milk. I know my son did. Just remember every baby is different, and let them lead the way when it comes to eating.

    3. As a mom, it’s hard to let go. But your baby is growing up.

    • I do let her lead the way. When she’s hungry, I feed her and when she’s not, I don’t. I don’t believe in forcing babies to do anything they obviously don’t want to. They don’t understand and just get upset when you try to force them to do anything. I let her tell me what she wants and she does. She has started nursing again. Not quite as much as she was but she still doesn’t 4-6 times a day. I was more worried about her getting dehydrated from not getting enough fluids. I try hard not to worry because I know she senses it but it is hard sometimes. I’ve been working on it and I will continue to try. Thanks for the advice ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment